Karina Canellakis - Photo23 Eduardus Lee

Final concert: Verdi's Requiem

Programme

Giuseppe Verdi Requiem

In this season's final concert, Giuseppe Verdi wrote the requiem mass for his favourite Italian writer, Alessandro Manzoni, whom he had loved since the age of 16. On hearing of Manzoni's death, Verdi was inconsolable and unable to attend the funeral. Three days later he visited the grave in Milan. On the anniversary of Manzoni's death a year later, Verdi conducted the first performance of his Requiem at San Marco in Milan. Due to its enormous success, it was repeated at La Scala in Milan and Verdi toured Europe with his Requiem. It is now one of the absolute religious top pieces, alongside Bach's Hohe Messe, Mozart's Requiem and Beethoven's Missa solemnis.

Date:
Friday 17 June 2022
Time:
8:15 pm
Pause:
No
Location:
TivoliVredenburg

Utrecht
-
Large Hall

Performers

Radio Philharmonic Orchestra
Go to the website
Karina Canellakis
Conductor
View profile
Netherlands Radio Choir
Choir
Go to the website
Benjamin Goodson - Photo: Paolo Ferla
Benjamin Goodson
Choir conductor
View profile
Sonja Šarić
Soprano
Yulia Matochkina
Mezzo-soprano
Mario Bahg
Tenor
Riccardo Fassi
Bass

Coming soon

Monday, 4 July 2022
Other series

Friends Lottery Summer Concerts - Handel and Mozart

Saturday, 10 September 2022
NTR Saturday Matinee

Bellini's Norma: back in the Netherlands

Friday 16 September 2022
AVROTROS Friday Concert

Opening concert - New work by Jacob TV

Friday 7 October 2022
AVROTROS Friday Concert

Ode to Music Making

Sunday 9 October 2022
The Sunday Morning Concert

Brahms, Schumann and Poulenc with Remy van Kesteren

Friday 14 October 2022

Brahms and Poulenc with the Residentie Orkest

Saturday, 15 October 2022

Masterclassics: Poulenc's Gloria

Saturday 12 November 2022
NTR Saturday Matinee

Widmann's giant ARCHE

Friday 18 November 2022
AVROTROS Friday Concert

Connesson & Beethoven 9

Sunday 20 November 2022
The Sunday Morning Concert

Ode to Joy

Follow us on social media