Schumann's Das Paradies und die Peri

Programme

  • Robert Schumann Das Paradies und die Peri


The final concert of this season of the AVROTROS Friday Concert is dedicated to "longing for paradise. For it was an exotic fairy tale by Thomas Moore that inspired Robert Schumann to write the atmospheric and colorful Das Paradies und die Peri. It is among that handful of choral works that move listeners to tears because of its magnificent music and strong spiritual message. And yet this extraordinary piece is virtually unknown to the public. Hence an ardent plea here!


Date:
Friday 9 June 2023
Time:
8:15 pm
Pause:
Yes, including break
Location:
TivoliVredenburg

Utrecht
-
Large Hall

Performers

Radio Philharmonic Orchestra
Go to the website
Hartmut Haenchen
Conductor
Netherlands Radio Choir
Choir
Go to the website
Michael Alber
Choir conductor
Siobhan Stagg
Soprano, Peri
Lauren Urquhart
Soprano, Jungfrau / quartet
Sophie Rennert
Mezzo-soprano, solo / Der Engel / quartet
Sebastian Kohlhepp
Tenor, solo
Kieran Carrel
Tenor, solo / Jüngling / quartet
Rafael Fingerlos
Baritone, Der Mann / quartet
Ludovic Provost
Baritone, Gazna
View profile

Coming soon

Friday, March 22, 2024

Bach's St. John Passion at the Concertgebouw Orchestra

Karina Canellakis
Saturday, March 23, 2024
NTR Saturday Matinee

Karina Canellakis covers The Makropulos Case

Sunday, March 24, 2024

Bach's St. John Passion at the Concertgebouw Orchestra

Stephan Zilias
Friday, March 29, 2024
AVROTROS Friday Concert

Frank Martin: Golgotha

Paul McCreesh
Saturday, April 6, 2024
NTR Saturday Matinee

Paul McCreesh: a Trauersymphonie and a grand Requiem

Stéphane Denève
Saturday, April 20, 2024
NTR Saturday Matinee

The French magic of Stéphane Denève

Benjamin Goodson
Saturday, April 27, 2024
NTR Saturday Matinee

Jeths, Italy, Rossini and death

Netherlands Radio Choir
Saturday, May 18, 2024
AVROTROS Friday Concert

Living Room: Northern Lights

Benjamin Goodson
Wednesday, May 22, 2024

Like a prayer

Benjamin Goodson
Thursday, May 23, 2024

Like a prayer

Follow us on social media